WHAT ABOUT ENGLISH FOR EVERYBODY?

Privet! I hope I won’t disturb anyone with this post.

I’m totally new to Calculate Linux, but I’m already enthusiastic about it. I believe it’s a great project; the first Gentoo-based distribution I’ve liked so far: easy to install, working, and extremely elegant in design-artwork. I can’t but congratulate the people behind this nice distro, and anyone contributing to it!!

BUT…!

But I’m afraid that WE (I already consider myself a Calculate member), we have a big obstacle if we want this project to be as popular as it could be, and if we want to multiply by ten the number of Calculate users: we need to drop the Russian forums and move to the English one. Really. Have you, my Russian speaking friends, noticed how many entries are there in the English forum, and how many are there in the Russian forum? Ten to twenty times difference!

Guys, we have to face it: most people in this planet who could use Calculate don’t speak nor understand Russian, whereas (I’m sure) most Russians here can speak and write in English. And, as there are much more knowledgeable members here using the Russian forum than the English one, this means that most non-Russian-speaking people who need help in Calculate forums will not find it, because the English forums are almost desertic.

So, may I make a suggestion to the Calculate crew, the moderatos and the members? What about everybody start using English? This way, we’d make this community MUCH MUCH friendlier and helpful, therefore bigger and more successful. Actually, in my opinion, I think that there should not be three different categories divided by language (Russian, English, French), but just one, and everybody trying to use English as far as we can…

Now that I’ve finally found a distribution that I like, I would be extremely sad if I had to drop it for lack of help.