Installation of rgdal in R fails

Hello, first thanks to the developers of this great distro! I have been using Calculate for about 12 months and I am trying to build another machine with the new version 17 (LXQt)

I am trying to install rgdal (a dependency of gstat) in R on a clean installation (updated). I have sci-libs/gdal and sci-libs/proj installed. Here are the last few lines of output from the R console:

x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -I/usr/lib64/R/include -DNDEBUG -I/usr/include/gdal  -I"/home/wjc721/R/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-library/3.2/sp/include"   -fpic  -O2 -march=x86-64 -pipe  -c OGR_write.cpp -o OGR_write.o

x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -I/usr/lib64/R/include -DNDEBUG -I/usr/include/gdal  -I"/home/wjc721/R/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-library/3.2/sp/include"   -fpic  -O2 -march=x86-64 -pipe  -c gdal-bindings.cpp -o gdal-bindings.o

x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -I/usr/lib64/R/include -DNDEBUG -I/usr/include/gdal  -I"/home/wjc721/R/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-library/3.2/sp/include"   -fpic  -O2 -march=x86-64 -pipe  -c init.c -o init.o

x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -std=gnu99 -I/usr/lib64/R/include -DNDEBUG -I/usr/include/gdal  -I"/home/wjc721/R/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-library/3.2/sp/include"   -fpic  -O2 -march=x86-64 -pipe  -c inverser.c -o inverser.o
inverser.c:3:22: fatal error: projects.h: No such file or directory
 #include <projects.h>
                      ^
compilation terminated.

The installation of rgdal has a few threads on Stackoverflow, but the solutions are for Linux distributions other than Gentoo or Calculate. They suggest installation of packages (in Debian) such as libgdal1h, libgdal1-dev, libproj-dev and gdal-bin, none of which exist in Gentoo or Calculate.

I upgraded R from the default version 3.2.2 to 3.3.2 and gdal from 2.0.2-r3 to 2.0.3. This did not help, the error is the same.

Any help would be very much appreciated! This was all working fine on the previous version of Calculate :frowning:

Thanks, Bill

Hi Bill,